Follow mikethementor on Twitter
Subscribe to Mike the Mentor's free newsletter - and get 2 bonus articles "The Future of Leadership Coaching" and "Mentoring" available only to new subscribers.

* required



Social and Email Marketing by VerticalResponse

The 6 Levels of Coaching
The 7 Eyed Supervision Model
The CLEAR Model
Coaching Interventions
Corporate Transformation Process
Development Stage Frameworks
The GROW Model
The Inner Game
The Integral (AQAL) Model
Internal and External Model of Development
Solution Focused Coaching
Sentic States
The Storytelling Coach
Thinking Environments
Transformational Coaching
The Integral (AQAL) Model

One of Ken Wilber's many books is entitled "The Integral Vision: A Very Short Introduction to the Revolutionary Integral Approach to Life, God, the Universe, and Everything", another is "A Brief History of Everything ". Clearly a person of grand ambition, Wilber has sought to create an all-inclusive map of human potential.

Wilber saw that the hundreds of systems and models of human potential he examined could be reduced to five simple elements - quadrants, stages, lines, states and types. This is known as the AQAL ("All Quadrants, All Levels ...) model.Integral Model

He grouped these models as to whether they looked at individuals (eg psychology) or at groups (eg sociology); and looked at the individual or group either from the inside (subjective) or at the outside (objective). Putting these two dimensions (individual-group and inside-outside) together he created a quadrants model. This describes the four fundamental domains of development. An integral approach involves working in all four domains - see the four domains of Integral Leadership

Stages of consciousness represent different levels of development. One example from the Individual Interior quadrant used in leadership development is the 7 Transformations of Leadership.

Lines of development describe the various kinds of intelligence (cognitive, emotional, musical, kinaesthetic, etc) that can grow and develop through the stages - you will have developed the capacity for some intelligences more than for others

The major states of consciousness are waking, dreaming and deep sleep - others include meditative states, altered states (eg drug-induced) and peak experiences. Unlike stages which, once attained, are enduring acquisitions, states are temporary and come and go.

Types refer to items that can be present at virtually any stage or state. One widely used typology is the Myers-Briggs Type Inventory (MBTI).

Copyright © 2013. Dr M H Munro Turner. All rights reserved